"Only if it's a school day."
There's nothing like the fear of unintentionally tackling a six-year-old to ruin a fun day out with friends.
Maybe it was our fault. We did go on Martin Luther King Day, when the schools were out.
I don't think Triangle Sportsplex has a limit on the number of people they let skate at once. If they do, it's too big.
One of my friends noted that they should have a separate rink for kids. That's not such a bad idea, since they're so daring and more likely to skate right across your path.
![]() |
| My roommate, Laralee, has a good sense of humor. She can't do anything but laugh as she catches herself after almost colliding with a kid. |
I was one of the few who didn't fall, but that was pure luck. Or maybe it was because I didn't skate much. The ice was really choppy only a few minutes after it opened and shortly after the Zamboni made an appearance (which was once in the three hour public skate).
One poor kid got really hurt. We didn't see what happened but could tell it was bad. His group wrapped him in blankets and crowded around him for more than half an hour while they waited on an ambulance. My group got off the ice, but no announcements were made to clear it or even to stay out of the way.
The best part of the day was a performance by Triangle Synchronized Skating Team, which trains there. They were impressive and entertaining to watch.
If it weren't for having good company, I wouldn't have considered the excursion worth $9 and a 20 minute car ride.
Here are directions if you still want to try it out. But take my advice: Don't make a holiday of it.

No comments:
Post a Comment